Forward and Aldeburgh First Collection Prizes

October 8, 2009

Forward Prize winnerHappy National Poetry Day, first and foremostly! Today’s the day for celebrating poetry in all its guises, and we’ve got off to a raring start with: Lorraine Kelly helping us launch our Carry a Poem Campaign by wearing the brooch we commissioned especial from our crafty friend Knitty Kitty on this morning’s GMTV. We still want to hear the poems you carry with you, and why, and now you cab visit our Carry a Poem website to find out more…

Terry Wogan gave us a wee squeal out on Radio 2. Our Juliet is organising ‘Toggerel!’ an evening of poems, verse – and worse – by, for and about TOGS. That’s Terry’s Old Geezer’s/Gals to the uninitiated – committed (or at least they should be) fans of Terry Wogan, often given to expressing themselves in their own unique forms of doggerel. All money raised is for Children In Need in November, so it was especially nice to hear him mention it, and us, this morning!

We’re in the thick of our NPD celebrations, after the initial giddiness occasioned by the points above. Ryan and Jane braved the brisk October air this morning to hand out poetry postcards to the work rush mobs in St Andrew Square garden. Lorna and Juliet are just bidding farewell to a school group from Dumfries and Galloway, and Ryan is settling in to lead a Nothing But the Poem session.

And so to the point of this post! Prizes! Last night was the Forward Prize ceremony. We blogged the shortlist back in July, and last night the winners were Don Paterson for best collection Rain, Emma Jones best newcomer with The Striped World, and Robin Robertson for his haunting poem ‘At Roane Head’. We were pleased to be following proceedings as they unspooled last night on Twitter, via @NathanHamilton!

The Aldeburgh First Collection Prize shortlist was announced today too! It is:

Sian Hughes for The Missing (Salt Publishing)
J O Morgan for Natural Mechanical (C B Editions)
Andrew Philip for The Ambulance Box (Salt Publishing)
Philip Rush for Big Purple Garden Paintings (Yew Tree Press)
Dawn Wood for Quarry (Templar Poetry)

The result will be announced on Saturday 7 November during the 21st Aldeburgh Poetry Festival, 6-8 November 2009. The winner receives a cash prize of £3,000, a weeks ‘protected’ writing time on the Suffolk coast and a fee-paying invitation to read at the 2010 Aldeburgh Poetry Festival.

One Response to “Forward and Aldeburgh First Collection Prizes”

  1. […] bedecked with the northern prose of Chris Killin, Helen Walsh and Kevin Samson. Reading from his Forward Prize-winning latest collection ‘Rain’, he was amusingly dry as he contemplated the collection’s dearth of cheer. Three cheers for […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: