Quiz take 3!

October 20, 2009

Whose Line is it Anyway? (name the poet, but brownie points for getting the poem too…)

1) “Poetry makes nothing happen”

2) “So much depends / upon // a red wheel / barrow // glazed with rain / water // beside the white / chickens.” 

3) “A slumber did my spirit seal; / I had no human fears: / She seemed a thing that could not feel / the touch of earthly years.”

4) “Nothing is not giving messages”

5) “Between my finger and my thumb / The squat pen rests; snug as a gun.”

6) “Beauty is truth, truth beauty, – that is all / Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know.”

7) “I’m Nobody! Who are you? / Are you – Nobody – too? / Then there’s a pair of us? / Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!”

3 Responses to “Quiz take 3!”

  1. sunnydunny Says:

    I can’t remember the first one, though I know it, if you know what I mean. 2 is William Carlos Williams: The red wheelbarrow. 4 is Edwin Morgan. 5 is Seamus Heaney: Digging. 6 is John Keats: Ode on a Grecian urn. 7 I don’t know, guessing Spike Milligan.

    • Louise Says:

      That last one brought a lot of different answers in the pub quiz, I’d guess, but the dashes give it away once you see it written down : Emily Dickinson! (I did flirt with the notion it was Ogden Nash.)

  2. Gripes Says:

    Ah, no7 (- via Wendy Cope, of course)

    Higgledy-piggledy
    Emily Dickinson
    Liked to use dashes
    Instead of full stops.

    Nowadays, faced with such
    Idiosyncrasy,
    Critics and editors
    Send for the cops.

    ;o)


Leave a Reply

