T S Eliot Prize shortlist…

October 26, 2009

T S Eliot…was announced on Thursday 22 October. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £15,000 by TS Eliot’s widow Valerie Eliot on 18 January 2010. Each of the shortlisted poets will receive £1,000. That shortlist is:

Eiléan Ní Chuilleánain The Sun-fish (Gallery)
Fred D’Aguiar Continental Shelf (Carcanet)
Jane Draycott Over (Carcanet)
Philip Gross The Water Table (Bloodaxe)
Sinéad Morrissey Through the Square Window (Carcanet)
Sharon Olds One Secret Thing (Cape)
Alice Oswald Weeds & Wild Flowers (Faber)
Christopher Reid A Scattering (Areté)
George Szirtes The Burning of the Books and Other Poems (Bloodaxe)
Hugo Williams West End Final (Faber)

The 10 collections were selected by Armitage and his fellow judges, the poets Colette Bryce and Penelope Shuttle, from 98 books.

Who’s your money on?

One Response to “T S Eliot Prize shortlist…”

  1. Mick Says:

    Eiléan Ní Chuilleánain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: