Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry

January 13, 2010

We were wondering whether Scottish poets would continue to receive the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry at roughly ten year intervals? It’s true that only 4 years elapsed between Norman MacCaig, the first Scottish poet to receive one, and Sorley MacLean in 1990, then it was awarded to Edwin Morgan in 2000, and Don Paterson on the cusp of 2010…

The Gold Medal for Poetry was instituted by George V in 1933 at the suggestion of the then Poet Laureate, John Masefield. The honour is awarded for excellence in poetry for either a body of work or an outstanding poetry collection published during the year of the award. The medal itself is a rather gorgeous object (we’ve seen EM’s), designed by Edmund Dulac, and shows Truth emerging from her well and holding in her right hand the divine flame of inspiration. Write on, Don!

~ Robyn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: