And the T S Eliot Prize 2010 goes to…

January 19, 2010

…Philip Gross for The Water Table (Bloodaxe), a collection of poems meditating upon the Severn estuary. Chair of judges Simon Armitage said “It is so concentrated and keen-eyed and patient. The poems have a beauty and a craft to the writing and it’s hard to imagine how he kept it up over 64 pages.”

The shortlisted poets were

The Sun-fish by Eiléan Ní Chuilleánain

Continental Shelf by Fred D’Aguiar

Over by Jane Draycott
The Water Table by Philip Gross
Through the Square Window by Sinéad Morrissey
One Secret Thing by Sharon Olds
Weeds & Wild Flowers by Alice Oswald
A Scattering by Christopher Reid
The Burning of the Books and Other Poems by George Szirtes
West End Final by Hugo Williams

You can join us for a closer look at The Water Table at our New Books session: T S Eliot prize winner special, on Monday 15 February, 6.30 – 8pm.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: