Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition 2010

July 20, 2010

Edwin Morgan wrote in his poem ‘At Eighty‘ ‘Unknown is best’. And so it may be for the winners of this year’s Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition 2010; though their names have been published – in alphabetical order – details of placing won’t be revealed until the now annual prize-giving event and reading at the Edinburgh International Book Festival, this year on Wednesday 18 August at 7pm.

In with a chance of bagging first prize of £5000 and lesser prizes of £1000, £500 and £50 (x 2), the winners are:

Fiona Benson is an Anglo-Scottish writer who currently lives in Exeter with her husband James. Some of her work was anthologised in Addicted to Brightness and her pamphlet is Faber New Poets 1. You can read Fiona’s poem ‘Unaccompanied’ on our Best Scottish Poems 2007, chosen by Alan Spence.

Marianne Burton was awarded a year’s mentorship by the poetry magazine Smiths Knoll and the resulting pamphlet, The Devil’s Cut, was a Poetry Book Society Choice. She has been widely published in the UK, US and South Africa, and earlier this year won second prize in the TLS poetry competition. Her first full collection is forthcoming from Seren.

Abigail Curtis teaches at York St John University. Her poetry collection Unexpected Weather won Salt Publishing’s Crashaw Prize and was published in 2009.

Susan Grindley has had poems published in many online and printed magazines including Limelight, Nth Position, Magma and Rising and also in the anthology Gobby Deegan’s Riposte (Donut Press), for which she wrote the title poem. She is a landscape architect and lives with her husband in Hackney, London.

A.B. Jackson was born in Glasgow, raised in Cheshire and Fife, and studied English Literature at the University of Edinburgh. His first book, Fire Stations, was published by Anvil Press in 2003, and won the Forward Prize for Best First Collection that year. Donut Press will publish a limited edition pamphlet, Apocrypha, in October 2010.  He works for the NHS in Glasgow.

Richard Lambert was born in London. He has a poetry pamphlet, The Magnolia published by The Rialto, and this year won first prize in the Yorkshire Poetry Competition and in the Kent & Sussex Poetry Competition, and was runner-up in the Wigtown Poetry Competition. He is currently doing the MA in Creative Writing in Fiction at UEA.

Nick MacKinnon is a teacher of Maths and English at Winchester College. He spent his teenage years in Ardrishaig on the long finger of land that points at Ireland which is made into an island by the Crinan canal. He was runner up in the 2009 Bridport Prize and a major prizewinner in the 2007 and 2008 McLellan Festivals and the 2009 Plough, Hippocrates and tall-lighthouse competitions.

The competition is organised by Vital Synz and sponsored by the Edinburgh International Book Festival and the University of Strathclyde.

One Response to “Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition 2010”

  1. […] Prize and the first ever Seamus Heaney Centre Prize for Poetry short lists. The winners of the Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition were also announced – to find out how came where, you’ll have to bag yourself a ticket […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: