Nice to meet you… Kayleigh!

September 14, 2010

You may recall that we recently advertised for a new Library Assistant; well we acquired one and we’re delighted that she’s now fully in situ at our reception desk; manning the phones, dealing with enquiries of all shapes and sizes and managing our shop. Please give Kayleigh Bohan a warm welcome! Here’s a wee interview so we can all get better acquainted…

Tell us a bit about yourself!

I came to Edinburgh for university about five years ago and loved it so much I didn’t want to leave. My home town is Auchinleck on the west side of the country, famous for Talbot FC and being the home of James Boswell.

How have your first few weeks been? Highlights?

They’ve flown by! The Plan B private viewing with talks by Paul Muldoon and Norman McBeath has been my favourite event so far. Meeting volunteers on Saturdays and through the week has been great and the tea cupboard has been a highlight, definitely.

What’s the last book you read?

Usually, I have two books on the go: one for the bus or for spare minutes waiting in places, one for home when I have a few hours to get into it.  Sum by David Eagleman is the one I’m reading on the bus right now. At home, I’m reading Warrior Poet, a biography of Audre Lorde by Alexis De Veaux.

Your favourite kind of cake?

I’m stuck between chocolate crispy cakes and lemon cake, depending on the kind of tea to go with it. Please don’t make me choose.

The best thing about your job?

The SPL is a lovely place to work and there’s always something interesting to be getting on with.

What you’re looking forward to?

The Autumn series of events we’re running. Being around while that’s all happening will be great and I’m really looking forward to By Leaves We Live, the small presses fair on Saturday 25th September.

If you could have any kind of superpower, what would it be?

I can’t really answer without thinking about All My Friends are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman and how most superpowers end up being a bit rubbish for the people who have them, so if superpowers exist, I’d be forced to make my superpower opting out of having one.

One Response to “Nice to meet you… Kayleigh!”

  1. sunnydunny Says:

    Best wishes Kayleigh. I look forward to meeting you in the library.


Leave a Reply

